About Us

The Society of Veterinary Soft Tissue Surgery (SVSTS) was founded in 2002 with the inaugural meeting held in Keystone, Colorado. The SVSTS holds an annual meeting for members to share research and ideas to further the field and promote collaboration among soft tissue veterinary surgeons.

Between meetings, the SVSTS listserv facilitates discussion and exchange on cases, concepts, equipment etc. and is available to current members.

2021 SVSTS Executive Board

The SVSTS Executive Board can be reached at: SVSTSurgery@gmail.com



Elizabeth Swanson, DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVS

Assistant Professor, Mississippi State University

Department of Clinical Sciences

Starkville, Mississippi




Janet Grimes, DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVS-SA

Assistant Professor, University of Georgia

Department of Small Animal Medicine & Surgery

Athens, Georgia




Cheryl Hedlund, DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVS

Professor of Surgery, Iowa State University

Veterinary Clinical Sciences

Ames, Iowa


Technology Officer:


W. Alex Fox-Alvarez, DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVS-SA

Assistant Professor, University of Florida

Department of Small Animal Clinical Sciences

Gainesville, Florida


Past Presidents

Thank you to all of those who have served this wonderful professional community.

2017 - 2018

Michelle Waschak DVM, DACVS

Small Animal Surgeon

VCA Animal Specialty Center of Columbia, SC

2016 - 2017

Deanna Worley DVM, DACVS

Assistant Professor, Colorado State University

Fort Collins, CO

2014 - 2015

Boel Fransson DVM, PhD, DACVS

Assistant Professor, Washington State University

Pullman, WA

2012 - 2013

Joe Hauptman DVM, MS, DACVS

Professor, Michigan State University

East Lansing, MI

2010 - 2012

Eric Monnet DVM, PhD, DACVS

Professor, Colorado State University

Fort Collins, CO